Milestone: First lecture and documentary viewing!

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
1 min readMay 14, 2014

I took my daughter to her first lecture and documentary viewing at the community college today. She behaved very well, and I look forward to many more such educational adventures! She did start “talking” during part of the discussion after the documentary (maybe she just wanted to contribute her own thoughts), so I left early with her. She wasn’t fussing, just practicing with her vocal abilities, which I didn’t want to discourage. Later I can teach her when it’s appropriate to talk, but for now, I don’t want to stifle her urge to learn what she can do and push boundaries.

The event today is one of the things that I’ve been most looking forward to as a parent. I want to go to these kinds of educational events and opportunities for learning. I enjoy these events, and having someone to share them with is delightful.

--

--