Organic v. Conventionally Grown Produce

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
2 min readApr 2, 2014

Even before I got pregnant, I tried to buy organic foods when possible. It’s debatable as to whether organic foods are nutritionally any different from ones that are grown conventionally, with the use of pesticides. There is some evidence that organic is better, but that area needs more study, in my opinion, and it isn’t the primary reason why I buy anyway (Aubrey, 2013).

For me, the preference for organic is primarily due to the reduced exposure to pesticides. I am willing to pay to consume fewer harmful chemicals, especially leading up to and during childbearing years, when those chemicals that build up in my body can harm my child. I recommend watching the Ted Talk given by Tyrone Hayes and Penelope Jagessar Chaffer on this topic.

In addition to being better for my health, organic food tends to be better for the environment and the people growing it (Natural Resources Defense Council, 2009). The chemicals used to produce conventional produce enter the environment and cause damage. PBS’s documentary Poisoned Waters takes an in-depth look at the damage caused to the Chesapeake Bay and Puget Sound from contamination.

I am quite aware that organic generally costs more than conventionally grown products, but I am fortunate that my household budget allows me to buy organic if that’s important to me. I know that not everyone has that option; for some, it’s a matter of getting fresh fruits and vegetables on the table at all, and if you’re in that kind of situation, the debate of organic versus conventional is irrelevant. If you can afford to buy organic, the Environmental Working Group has a great guide for which items it’s best to buy as organic and which ones are less likely to be contaminated if you need to buy the conventionally grown version.

Sources and Further Reading:

--

--