Practicing Using My Voice

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
3 min readSep 4, 2014

Recent video captured the CEO, Des Hague, of concessions company Centerplate repeatedly kicking a Doberman puppy. Hague was in an elevator, and the dog didn’t seem to be doing anything wrong, trying to hide in the corner while this villain abused him. I watched the video. Yes, I’m an idiot like that sometimes. And what I saw made me angry. Very angry. Unfortunately, I don’t turn green or have superpowers to smash people like Hague.

However, I do have a voice, and I’m trying to get in the habit of using that voice. Since Hague was noted as being the CEO of a company that provides concessions, I looked up whether that company provides concessions at stadiums nearby that I attend. The company works with the Durham Bulls, so I reached out to them. As of this posting, I have not yet heard back from them. I stated that I had heard about the actions of the Centerplate CEO and that I didn’t want my money to profit someone like him. I recognize that as a lone individual, the company may ignore me, but the Durham Bulls may have a stronger voice with them if they urge Centerplate to remove Hague as CEO. Until Hague was removed or until the Bulls ceased working with Centerplate, I would not be spending my money with them. I don’t want my entertainment dollars to profit such villains.

It was announced yesterday that Des Hague had resigned. I was initially happy, but them I read that Hague was placed “on indefinite probation by Centerplate’s board.” That doesn’t sound like he’s permanently gone. That sounds like a slap on the wrist and that he’ll be back as soon as the public fury blows over. My anger is not appeased. Centerplate seems to have ordered Hague to donate $100,000 “to help support the protection and safety of animals in the city of Vancouver where the incident occurred,” but it doesn’t seem to be clear if he’ll actually donate that money since he’s been removed as CEO. A few months out of sight doesn’t seem like such a bad punishment given what he did and what he seems capable of.

voice

I fully recognize that my action, reaching out to the Durham Bulls, will likely come to naught and probably won’t even get a response, but I cannot always read about such despicable acts and just sit back, assuming that I’m too small, too weak to do anything. That accomplishes nothing and leads to a passivity that is unforgivable. I don’t want to be weak, and I don’t want my daughter to see me choosing to do nothing. My voice may be small, but I will use it. I will encourage my daughter to use hers as well. We may shout and take actions that are so small as to hardly be recognized in the grand scheme of things, but there will be either progress towards the kind of world we want to have or at least a slower slide backwards towards a world where people like Des Hague are allowed to beat puppies and merely be slapped on the wrist.

This was one small way to practice using the voice that I have, but I hope to become more accustomed to exercising my voice and have more of an impact on the world around me.

Resources and Further Reading

--

--