Products I Love: During Pregnancy

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
3 min readJul 27, 2014

I really limited the cosmetics and body products I used while I was pregnant. Chemicals in many products can be harmful, or at least have not been proven to be safe, to a developing baby. See my previous post about cosmetics for more information and further reading. I did find the following items to be reasonably safe and found them very useful during pregnancy.

Belli Anti-Blemish Facial Wash and Pure Radiance Sunscreen SPF 25

After looking at the ingredients in this line, I was comfortable using these products. No product is necessarily 100% safe, but these items seemed safer than other products I looked into. Especially during pregnancy you want to be careful about what products you use because the ingredients can be absorbed into your body and then into your child’s. I especially like this line’s SPF, which just sits on the skin rather than being absorbed into it. It has a slight tint to it, so it actually worked very well as a foundation or primer under other makeup.

bareMinerals Original Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF 15

I barely wore any makeup while pregnant since I wasn’t sure what was safe, but I did feel comfortable wearing Bare Minerals powder foundation. Their product line in general seems much safer than many others, if you’re looking for other products, too, like blush.

Burt’s Bees Fragrance Free Body Lotion for all Skin Types, Shea Butter & Vitamin E

During pregnancy and even now, I keep a bottle on my desk so that I can use it throughout the day as needed. No added fragrances mean that there are that many fewer chemicals added to it, which I appreciate.

Burt’s Bees Almond Milk Beeswax Hand Cream, Almond

Another Burt’s Bees product, this is really great when hands are really dry. Since I was pregnant during the winter, I used this about once a day and then used the lotion above the rest of the time. When you first put it on, it may seem like it’s going to be too thick or waxy. Give it a couple minutes, and it should absorb just fine, leaving your hands hydrated but not greasy.

eos Smooth Lip Balm Sphere

Easy to use, and since many women experience dry lips a lot during pregnancy, it was very useful.

--

--