Replacing Prejudiced Videos with Better Options

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
1 min readApr 6, 2014

YES! has a great article on children’s videos that contain prejudice and some possible videos with which to replace them. This list reminded me of one of my childhood favorites, The Brave Little Toaster, and made me reexamine movies that I hadn’t thought about as in-depth before. I had realized the racism in Peter Pan before now, but I hadn’t considered the effect it might have when my daughter might watch it. I haven’t seen all of the movies on the list, including Coraline, the recommended movie to replace Peter Pan, and this is a great reason to get around to watching some of these great movies.

What movies might you have watched growing up that you won’t be letting your children see?

--

--