Review of Max & Charlie by Zack Lieberman

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
2 min readMar 27, 2016

I recently received an advance copy of Max & Charlie by Zack Lieberman. I give it 4 stars (out of 5). I would definitely recommend it, but I also acknowledge that it has room for improvement or things that kept it from being “perfect.”

dog

This is a young adult graphic novel that follows a young boy chasing his dog through New York City. They have many adventures along the way, but the real plot is how to go through life. This novel reminded me very much of Gaiman’s The Sandman except less bleak and violent. There was a philosophical thread through the book that could aggravate some readers, but I quite enjoyed it and think that a lot of the young people this book is targeting would enjoy as well.

The images were stunning. They emphasized the mental state of the boy and his experiences while keeping the reader fully engaged and wondering. They added a bit of the fantastical and magic during the process of reading.

I highly recommend this for young readers around middle school age. The book will challenge them to think while also being entertaining and short enough not to lose their interest. A fascinating journey with a boy and his beloved dog.

--

--