Parenting Bliss

Cecilia P. Culverhouse
Raising Beena Boo
Published in
1 min readJan 3, 2019
BB & Mommy

While parenting anxiety (or perhaps first time parenting anxiety) which the last post explored is a something we freely talk about, what about parenting ecstasy? How do we describe the bliss moments of parenting? Those moments when you’re with your little one/s and encompassing unconditional love glows easily and boundlessly from our heart? Maybe, from our soul.

Here is one attempt to describe this. Amid contemplating parenting bliss the past couple of weeks, one afternoon Beena Boo and I went to play with a ball on an empty tennis court. After running around, I picked BB up. I held her belly up in my arms and we spun around. BB’s whole body relaxed. She let her head hang down off my arm and smiled a beautiful soft smile. A smile of bliss.

I felt bliss too. Relaxed, my heart overflowed peace and joy. There was a sense of being free.

Later, reading this Ram Dass quote, I was reminded that the bliss BB experienced awoke the bliss in me. BB’s bliss didn’t give me bliss/make me blissful. It awoke in me what was already there.

With gratitude,

Cecilia

--

--

Cecilia P. Culverhouse
Raising Beena Boo

Relationship explorer. Teacher, writer, and culvitator of empathy, awareness, and growth. www.ceciliaculverhouse.com