The Haircut

Gary Solomon
Raising the GIB: Gary’s Irregular Blog
4 min readFeb 2, 2019

I had occasion to be in Manhattan the other day, and my daughter had invited me to come see her new office near Columbus Circle. I thought nothing of planning to walk up to 57th street from Penn Station on 32nd street, especially because it gave me a chance to stop in at one of my favorite New York City spots, Midtown Comics, on the corner of 40th Street and 7th Avenue. This store, located a flight up from the street with another floor yet a flight above that, is the Macy’s of comic book stores and visiting there transports me back in time.

I do not remember exactly when I fell in love with comic books but it was at a very young age. I remember finding what was then called an 80 page Giant edition of Batman in a Christmas stocking before my sister was born, and she was born when I was six years old. I also do not remember what first attracted me to them but it could have been just simple timing.

My childhood and early adolescence coincided with a period of time now referred to as the Silver Age of Comics that is broadly defined as 1956–1970. Comic books had suffered a decline in the preceding years, and the industry had undergone some changes including introducing an authoritarian seal of approval from the Comics Code Authority to assure parents that a type of moral compass was used in the storytelling. Bolstered further by the first ever television series featuring a superhero, the Adventures of Superman, comic books began a resurgence. By the time that I was about five, they had exploded back on the scene. Marvel Comics was just entering the market with their different breed of superhero storytelling, but I my allegiance was to the traditional DC Comics product line.

As a young boy growing up in Queens, I got a haircut religiously every two weeks. At first, my mother took me, and as I got a little older, I went by myself. I did not have to cross any street to get to the barber shop that we frequented, as it was around two corners from our apartment building. Rounding the second corner, the last block of the approach was along Queens’ most famous thoroughfare, Queens Boulevard. Halfway down the block was the Rego Park Subway Station. One flight down towards the subway was a landing with four stores, and then another flight down led to the trains themselves. Yes, my barber shop, one of those stores, was virtually in the subway station.

So what does this have to do with comic books? When my mother brought me for a haircut, if I was well behaved, when we were done, I would be rewarded as we would go buy a comic book. In later years, I was able to self manage the haircut, self assess that I was well behaved, and then go shop by myself.

Upstairs at street level right next to the subway steps was the stereotypical New York City Luncheonette and Candy Store. Upon entering, there was the cashier and cash register, in front of which was a populous display of candies, nuts and other snacks. Past these was a long counter with round stools where patrons dined, usually for breakfast or lunch. Behind the counter were old fashioned soda fountains.

The opposite side of the aisle facing the cashier had stacks and stacks of New York’s many different daily newspapers. It was the wall above those that I was there for. This wall had columns and columns of racks mounted, all housing the latest comic books. I would stand there after my haircut, dumbfounded and overwhelmed by the selections. At first, these comic books had cost a dime, shortly afterwards they rose to twelve cents, and I lived in mortal fear that I would make a choice that would leave me less than fully satisfied.

As a diehard DC Comics fan coming of age during the maturing of the Silver Age of Comics, I had too many choices. Superman alone had appeared in his own comic and also headlined Action Comics. He supported “Superman’s Girl Friend, Lois Lane,” and “Superman’s Pal, Jimmy Olsen.” Batman had his own comic too and also headlined Detective Comics. Superman and Batman appeared together in World’s Finest. Batman teamed up with rotating guests in the Brave and the Bold. Other characters emerging in the Silver Age also had their own issues including Aquaman, the Flash, Green Lantern and Wonder Woman. They all appeared together in the Justice League of America. Superboy had his own comic and also headlined Adventure Comics that eventually spawned the Legion of Super Heroes. I guess you get the idea; this poor little boy had but one dime to spend. I’d make my decision, and more often than not I was pleased.

Today, while most of the my original comics are no longer with me, I still have about 100 issues sitting in a closet. I still look for large comic stores when I travel and I still frequent Midtown Comics. While I’ll find a nugget here or there, I have adapted to the times and now often acquire hardcover anthologies of Silver Age reprints. I’d love to tell you more, but it is a time for me to go get a haircut.

--

--