Who Can End The Taliban’s Rule Over Afghanistan?

Ramblings Anon
Ramblers
Published in
3 min readDec 13, 2023

--

Photo from macdonaldlaurier.ca

As a woman from New Zealand, I cannot imagine how different my life would have been if I had been born in Afghanistan. The realisation that I am privileged to be safe and free was shocking. I have lived oblivious to the suffering of our brothers and sisters.

This disgusting world holds heart-wrenching secrets of human indecency everywhere you go. My epiphany occurred while reading ‘The Kite Runner’, a book that was recommended to me by my dad a few years before he passed away.

Snippets of the horrors of Taliban soldiers, from mass murders to the abomination of laws over women, crept into the pages, and suddenly, I remembered that this is not just in fiction books; this is reality.

A quick search on Google found an article titled ‘Taliban marks two years since return to power in Afghanistan’, published in August 2023.

Everything I had read about the Taliban is happening right now. My mind instantly put myself, my siblings and my family in the shoes of the people of Afghanistan. How can this suffering and injustice continue? What can we do to help these people?

Who Can End The Taliban’s Rule Over Afghanistan?

I am asking because I haven’t the slightest clue what the solution is. Some respond with an…

--

--

Ramblings Anon
Ramblers

Neonatal RN | NZ/Māori | Writer of raps, poems, and other rambles | Lover of music, nature, animals, food, and chess ❤