Marie Daigre Faulk

New Iberia, Louisiana

Raja Badr-El-Din
Ramblin Stories
Published in
2 min readMay 11, 2017

--

What was your favorite meal to eat growing up?

“ I grew up eating Cajun food, and it’s the best food in the world. It is hard to say which dish I enjoyed most, but, I think every week my mother had smothered round steak with rice and gravy. I remember that. We ate with my mother every Sunday, and every Sunday she had the same menu. It never varied and no one ever got tired of it. She had a beef roast, baked macaroni, and homemade fresh sausage that she would smother. “

Can you remember any stories they would tell you growing up?

“ Haha. Growing up we lived here on Iberia Street, and we had neighbors there. We had a fence and a large tree that separated the two yards. My daddy would tell me that one day he saw a stork fly up to the house and put a baby on top of the tree. He ran out with his ladder to retrieve the baby, but, Mr. Lacombe was on the other side already climbing up his! Well, Mr. Lacombe’s ladder was too short to get me… So he kept climbing up the tree and retrieved me from there. Apparently, that is how I joined the family. “

What advice do you have for the younger generation?

“ Not to feel entitled. Work for what you have and be appreciative. Be tolerant of other peoples opinions and feelings. Get along with others and be appreciative, there are many things to be thankful for every day.”

As you get older what are you most looking forward to?

“ Am I going to get older? haha. I think I am already there. I’m fortunate to have a very good life. I love to play bridge. As you get older it keeps your mind going and you have companionship. I have a group of friends who go out twice a week to eat somewhere. I’m almost 85 and I still live in my home and I have me niece Hilda who lives next door to me. ”

--

--