Ashley Tan
4Nomenal Publications
1 min readJan 31, 2021

--

an endless cycle

-

taking off my shoes

on the balcony

i stood at the edge

gazing down below me

bustling streets

as cars zoomed past

“hah” i thought

not one will last

well i guess it’s time

for me to go

i’ve been here long enough

yet it seems like just a minute ago

taking my first step

like a baby learning to walk

i closed my eyes

to shoot my shot

the clock stopped ticking

as my body plummeted down

like watching a gumball

spiralling it’s way to the ground

excited i was

to escape from this world

no more troubles or worries

in the otherworld

-

except it’s not

what i thought it would be

as i stared right back

at my parents smiling with glee

i couldn’t move

my arms or legs

as they seemed to be

as small as an egg

i laughed to myself

accepting my predicament

finding my memories

fading every moment

i’ll soon forget

everything that has happened

forced to relive this hell

my vision blackened

i’m trying so hard

not to fall asleep

i can’t continue to let

this cycle repeat

it was foolish of me

to think i had a chance

of escaping reality

what a dunce

-

the body of a baby

proved to be much weaker

as it was nearly impossible

not to succumb to the pressure

.

.

.

.

ejdjusbsgooogooogahgahhcnrkdjsh

--

--