Burden Of Rebirth

Ashlee
4Nomenal Publications
1 min readJan 27, 2021

What if the phoenix
doesn’t want to rise again.
What if the ashes
of the soul that once was
ought to be blown away
in the wind,
What if a broken mind
doesn’t want to be stitched-up
because it’s shattered
into fragments of mirror
Too tear-stained to be
any use
glued together again.
Because come on
A broken mind and a broken body
Is kind of worse than a broken heart
What if I am ruins
And I’m okay
Just being a historical tribute
To the castle I once was.

because what if
the phoenix doesn’t deserve a second chance.
what if the soul
wasn’t pure or clean.
what if the mirror only reflected a kaleidoscope,
too confusing for anyone to bear to see.
what if a fallen castle
is better than a built one
if majesty
Served as a facade.
A torture chamber
to my conscience
a prison
to my only good parts
left
chaining me to this world that only served to corrupt
when all this phoenix ever wanted,
was to finally be free.

inspired loosely by the concept of assisted suicide (euthanesia)but not faccs unreliable narrator

--

--