Heart beat

Elena Chow
4Nomenal Publications
Jan 30, 2021

Shutting both my eyes,

quietly listening to

Our hearts

beating in unison

Like fate allows

badum, badum, badum.

Unconsciously

it seeps,

little by little,

Into the dark abyss of my mind.

soon to be remembered as a

Painful.

Heart wrenching memory.

We once shared

that time

I so firmly believed,

that we would never

Be apart.

Together forever,

enjoying the golden sunsets

that turned to sunrise,

in what felt like seconds.

It was ethereal.

That fateful day

I witnessed the horror,

tears brimming in my eyes,

unable to believe

You and Her

hugging like inseparable lovers

But

it should have been

Me.

Shutting both my eyes,

quietly listening to

My heart

beating independently

Stronger than before

Badum, Badum, Badum.

--

--