my grandma’s house

Ng Zhiqi
4Nomenal Publications
2 min readMay 21, 2021

My grandma’s house has marble tiles, so the floor is always cool. I clearly remember lying stomach-down on the big empty space in front of the door, playing with Lego sets or doodling cartoon characters. There are arrangements of fake flowers in random corners, much like in my own house. However, while every real plant I’ve owned has always died within like a week, my grandma has an extensive collection of flowers that are very much alive, blooming abundantly and successfully in the corridor. I don’t know what it is with grandmas and gardening, but I once watched her pick up a completely unassuming branch and plant it when we got back home. Much to my disbelief, it somehow took root and produced beautiful pink flowers. I still remember the look of pride on her face.

Nothing about my grandma’s house has changed for as long as I can remember. Maybe I like it so much because it never changes. My grandma has been helping to raise me since I was born, taking care of me in the daytime while my parents went to work. I’ve been going to her house after school basically every single day since kindergarten. It’s always been a safe haven of sorts for me.

I remember reading and playing and napping in every room of the old apartment. I remember discovering my love for video games at 7 years old with my uncle’s PlayStation. I remember the dreary afternoons spent studying, too. I used to sit at my uncle’s desk and stare at his digital clock instead of doing homework, praying that dinnertime would come sooner so that I could rest. I would always wish that things could change, and that one day I wouldn’t be stuck at that mahogany desk doing my dreaded homework.

Now I study at my own desk instead. I do my homework late into the night at my own house, and realise that younger me didn’t know how lucky she was. Now I wish that I could have the peaceful afternoons of my childhood back. I know that in JC, I’ll barely have time to even go back to my grandma’s house for dinner every night. I think a part of me will always be in that house, though, playing on that marble floor.

--

--