My Melody

Joey Tang
4Nomenal Publications
2 min readMay 21, 2021

The sky was pitch black outside, all dark but the twinkling of fairy lights strewn across the balcony and the glitter of streamers.
White, gold. Red, green.
A cool breeze blew and my hair was messed up further.
I walked back inside and closed the doors behind me.

The house was littered with ornaments; a miniature Ferris wheel, little birds following a supposed mother bird, a weird assortment of rocks and sea shells of different shades of blue and beige, and a large metallic centrepiece which looked like nothing in particular.
Though an odd combination, everything seemed to fit in the mood and atmosphere of the room which was bathed in a warm yellow glow

An endless loop of music videos played on the screen while everyone ate and chatted, the tunes drowned out by the mix of voices, a harmony I never expected to like this much.
The ostinato of the children rambling, the rhapsody of the adults engaging in political conversation, the sharps and flats of spontaneous vocal inflexions.
The images on the screen were telling our story, moving to our rhythm.
The living room was merely an empty stave, stringing everyone together

With nobody to talk to, I sat staring at the television, feeling warm and content. It was then that the screen went blank. Despite the light protests, the words “A-d-e-s-t-e F-i-d-e-l-e-s” were typed on the screen. Enter.
Sick of the constant repetition of the previous songs, I remained unfazed. The cadences of an organ sounded as I anticipated the first lyric.

But instead, an unfamiliar voice spoke.

An unfamiliar voice from a familiar face, a face I almost failed to recognise.
That deep frown, that emptiness in his eyes, those lines of sorrow written on his face ––––
It was as if that permanent yet distant constant had suddenly ceased to exist.

“I only know the lyrics in Latin”

That gruff, low voice admitted. It chuckled softly.

His lips curved upwards and his eyes wrinkled at the sides as the choir’s harmonies filled the room.
“Adeste Fideles laeti triumphales,”

His eyes lit up as he joined in, “Venite, venite in Bethlehem

Everyone had gone silent.
He breathed heavily as he struggled to hold the long notes and fumbled over several words, trying his best to keep up with the tempo.

Venite adoremus, ”

We all stared, wide grins on our faces.

Venite adoremus,”

My father’s stern face had softened as he let out a laugh at this novel sight.
His father was back.
His father was telling him not to worry anymore

Venite adoremus dominum!

My heart tightened as I felt my eyes well up with tears.
I gazed at him unblinkingly, refusing to tear my eyes away from him
He was the golden gleam that lit the room
Everlasting brightness veiled under flesh

For years to come,
this scene, this room, will always hold a special place in my heart.
For it showed me a sight I had never seen.
A voice I had never heard.

A day I would like to have forever etched in my memory.

--

--