pink bakery

Elena Chow
4Nomenal Publications
1 min readMay 21, 2021

like a predator sniffing out the prey

i widen my nasal passages

allowing that scent to trigger

my olfactory sensory neurons

nostalgia slams into my face

awakening all my reflexes

-

my body is automated

a daily routine internalized

my legs move on its own accord

it knows the steps to take

turns to make

to arrive at that place

-

ah yes!

there it is

my favourite place

for years it has been

i’ve grown accustomed to

even if i were to be blind

i would still be able to visualize

-

the pink coloured walls

-

on your right

shelves meticulously stacked with breads

of all flavours

and designs

each its own unique combination of ingredients

a secret recipe that cannot be

replicated

every flavour engraved onto my tongue

a feast for my eyes

the only place where my cravings get satisfied

-

right in front

the refrigerators loaded with

all the sweetness

sponge cake and cream

a match made in heaven

an array of colours

made for your selection

displayed through the thick glass wall

-

on your left

the aroma of

pandan batter

freshly toasted waffles

linger in the air

making you lose your sense of reality

wonder if you are in another land

-

because who could ever resist

a taste of heaven

that pleases the palate

-

well at least i can’t

--

--