The book

farhanah
4Nomenal Publications
1 min readMay 21, 2021

pages musty and old

but its words are like gold

hidden beneath its pale skin

a siren that draws me in

to a world unknown

at 8 years old

i read the words eagerly

i would never leave it

each word like a fervent prayer

a heaven more beautiful than flowers

‘i will never leave you’ i whsipered

or so i thought

at 10 years old

Something else came creeping

first the shiny metal case

Then the cool blue display

that perked up

Whenever a message came

the book remained forgotten

At 12 years old

A monster lingered over me

Threatening to devour me

If I don’t slay it

A product of the society

I could only watch in horror

As I watched myself be thrown around

helpless

The book remained forgotten

At 14 years old

I picked up the book

And memories rushed through me

And I find myself gone

To the worlds that lay forgotten

My heart threatens to break

As I find back

My lifeline, my redemption

Times may change

But I know one thing for sure

‘I won’t leave you again’

Cross my heart

Farhanah

--

--