View more by Marykor UA Canva Pro by Ranch

Poetry | Love | Verse

Gateway Drug

A Poem by Scott Gardiner

--

I will still blow you kisses
Though they fall upon deaf wishes
On my way to work each morn

The road to you leads nowhere anymore
Like Magellan, I’m lost on a quest to explore
The stars are dim and fail to guide me

Looking out my windshield I’m heading your way.
Heading towards the Bay
It’s supposed to be the Gateway
To Opportunity
I want to close my eyes and drift away
To wherever you might be
But you’re not there and that’s ok
I’ll keep driving anyway

I try to hold my cards close to my chest
Just like Marcus Aurelius
Most days I’m no Roman Emperor

I’m branching out and moving on
Talking to folks and writing Psalms
Most days are fine, but not them all

Looking out my windshield I’m heading your way.
Heading towards the Bay
It’s supposed to be the Gateway
To Opportunity
I want to close my eyes and drift away
To wherever you might be
But you’re not there and that’s ok
You’re in my thoughts anyway

I hope you’ve found all that you need
I want you to feel peaceful and free
Go on and get some rest. I wish you all the best.

Looking out my windshield I’m heading your way.
Heading towards the Bay
It’s supposed to be the Gateway
To Opportunity
I want to close my eyes and drift away
To wherever you might be
But you’re not there and that’s ok
I still love you anyway

--

--

Scott Gardiner
Agency Magazine

Writer of little note, or maybe writer of little notes.