Photo by Magdaline John on Unsplash

Subsister | Pain

It Hurts

Jailyn James
Agency Magazine
Published in
1 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

By Jailyn James

Resecting this you shaped cancer

From my mind, within my heart

Laparoscopic incisions

Intended to keep the wounds small

To heal quickly

Tender are the scars

A stinging reminder of

Whats been cut out

Sliced into insignificant pieces

To be extracted from deep within

Through that paltry place

Red bagged and tagged

Sterilized and incinerated

You may be gone, however

The ghost of you remains

Appearing as you please

Gently plucking at the sutures

Holding me together

Causing oceans of searing salt

To flow down my cheeks

Whimpers extubated from my throat

I wasn’t expecting the switch to be flipped

Left flatlined

Alone on the table to sew myself together

So many questions left unanswered

Burning through my being

Grafting the pieces

Waiting for the healing to begin again

It hurts

I don’t understand

But, I’m learning to live with it.

By Jailyn James

--

--

Jailyn James
Agency Magazine

Semi-writer of poetry. Lover of words. Smutty words.