Goldi made with Midjourney AI & Canva

Just Right | Serial Fiction | Dark Fairy Tale | Noir Fiction | Crime Fiction

Just Right (Part 2)

Goldi: She can’t be all bad. No one is. Well, she comes the closest.

SJStone
Agency Magazine
Published in
11 min readJul 13, 2023

--

Just Right

38 stories

Granny warned me about men, especially rich ones, but she never mentioned bears or what one could do to you, how he could maul you from the inside out without a drop of blood, without the first scratch. I never knew what could happen when you handed over your heart because I’d never tried it. But after my time with the three bears, cornered beyond their snarling pleas and clutching love, I decided I never would open myself for another to see, to smell, to taste. Not a man, anyway.

I also never thought I’d end up here, slinging drinks and selling cigs to the absolute lowest lives of this half-town: I was going to be a star. My name is Goldi, after all. Oh, I know — you’ve heard the story, everyone has. But let me tell you something right now: life ain’t no fairy tale.

--

--

SJStone
Agency Magazine

teacher. linguist. innovator. author. politico. realist. registered Independent. Navy veteran. Find me here: https://www.sjstoneauthor.com/