Made with Midjourney and Canva

Just Right | Serial Fiction | Dark Fairy Tale | Noir Fiction | Noir

Just Right (Part 9)

Wolfe: Blow Your House Down

Agency Magazine
Published in
7 min readAug 7, 2023

--

Just Right

38 stories

There’s something to be said for being drunk all day. I couldn’t remember what it was; it didn’t matter. It was a truth without words. And what else is a suspended cop supposed to do when his life is shit, his job is on hold and his girlfriend is dead?

I was a walking cliché. It was as if I’d watched entirely too many movies and found the typical movie cop role to assume: single, down-on-his-luck, overtly violent and anti-establishment, smoker, drinker, overall lout. I stared at my reflection and saw what the big screen always wanted me to see.

And looking for my lover’s killer. How could it get more cliché than that?

I needed a star on the Walk of Fame for this portrayal.

I lit another Ultra, took a drag, watched the smoke curl around my head like the clouds that rolled in just after dark. They threatened me with…

--

--

SJStone
Agency Magazine

teacher. linguist. innovator. author. politico. realist. registered Independent. Navy veteran. Find me here: https://www.sjstoneauthor.com/