Shelters are special places

Kyle Reynolds
Random Acts of Dog
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2016

Working with shelter dogs has been one of the most fulfilling things I have ever done with my life. I’m a dog lover to my core so any day where I get to go visit dogs is a good day. Spend time playing with this dog you say. Sure thing. Take some photographs while you’re at it. Sure. It is all part of a great day in my book.

I love my own dogs and all the other dogs I already know, but there is something special about getting to go meet new dogs. It is a unique feeling to get to go meet a new dog and interact with them for the first time. Getting to know them a little and help bring the personality out of shelter dogs is so rewarding.

Getting to know the shelter dogs can be quite momentous. If you are not careful you will come in just for a visit to say hi or in my case to take photographs and one of those dogs sure enough will steel your heart and you will take him home. Trust me I know. It happened to me. Have you met Kira.

Having the opportunity to make an impact on the lives of another living being is so important to me. Shelter dogs need as much attention as they can get. They need and deserve socialization, training, exercise, and most of all love. To be able to stop in and give them just a little bit of that is so great. I know my presence alone isn’t a world beater for them but it helps to make their time in the shelter that much more comfortable.

I have done things in the name of DOG that I would have never imagined doing and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Help me continue to support shelter dogs by contributing to my project here: http://igg.me/at/ShelterDogsattheMuseum/x/13239346

Like this:

Like Loading…

Related

Originally published at krnaturalphoto.com on March 5, 2016.

--

--

Kyle Reynolds
Random Acts of Dog

Professional photographer/writer. Runner. Dog lover. PhD ABD Psychology. Masters in Sports Psych. KRNaturalPhoto.com