My Parents Are Nudists

Learning About Body Confidence Living in a Nudist Community

Keri A. Johnson
Random Awesome

--

Author’s photo

This last summer, this crazy COVID summer of 2020, I lived with my parents in a nudist community deep in the mountains of the Pacific Northwest. I learned about body positivity and freedom in a way I hadn’t expected.

My Parents are Nudists

My parents came out to me as nudists seven years ago. My siblings and I knew something was up as they seemed to have a lot of new friends and always had plans on the weekends. My stepbrother mistakenly thought they were swingers, but we later found out they were nudists. My aging parents had found a community of like-minded folks and spent a lot of time at the resort. They were happy, and it had nothing to do with us kids or grandkids. I was a little confused but happy for them.

Since then, they have built a house in the nudist community, and I have visited several times. This year due to moving back to the states and COVID, I found myself living on their property in the nudist community. My daughters and I lived in their fifth-wheel camping trailer beside their house for the better part of the summer.

My parents are nudists, but they are not nudists around my kids or me. (It’s my dad, gross). My teen was unfazed by our new neighborhood. She is half…

--

--

Keri A. Johnson
Random Awesome

Writer/Communication Coach/ESL teacher, INFJ, mama of 2, cat lover, ex expat in the Pacific NW. redtilewriting.com