Running is More of Mental Exercise

Prabhu Krishnamoorthy
Random Good Thoughts
2 min readJul 19, 2016

When I started to set my target “Run Everyday” my major thought is running is great physical exercise. It needs lot of stamina and fit muscle.

But now my perception towards running has totally changed. Only 15–20% of running in physical exercise rest is mental ability.

Since I don’t run with group or running coach, I can stop whenever I want.

My mind keeps me telling that it’s ok for day, lets call it a day. Though I am not physically tired, mind has this great winning strategy to make us believe that we are done. But real exercise begins there. Just push one more time. I love Casey Neistat favourite quote “Always be closing” this suits for every thing we do in life.

The real happiness lies on the other side. You can literally the feel the accomplishment the moment you crossed the bar set by your mind.

Tracking you exercise with apps(I love Runkeeper) helps lot in pushing the limit. There are days where I doubled by target and successfully completed 10k run.

I was on Cloud 9

I didn’t say this brag you. I just want to stress that you can always do 2x of anything you do with making change in current status. All you need to say “All be closing.”

--

--