Photo Courtesy: JedPinoy2323

Things I learned from my 4-year-old Niece

Prabhu Krishnamoorthy
Random Good Thoughts

--

Like most grown-up thinking about future is one of my favourite bad habits.

If there is a problem, instead of thinking about the solution, I waste all my energy on worrying.

One day, while I was seriously worrying without any reason, my niece entered home with full of joy. Just out of curiosity, I asked her “Vaishnavi, anything special today?” “No, Just as usual we had lots of fun”.

I was wondering why I am not happy like that little kid.

What makes kids laugh more than 300 times a day and adults laugh less than 5 times a day. Based on my observation, these are some of thing’s that make kids happier.

Curiosity

Regardless of situation and time, they just ask questions out curiosity. They don’t care for ROI on acquiring/learning/knowing this skill.

When was the last time you asked some question out of curiosity?

Failure

One of most common myth about Albert Einstein is he failed 1000 times. No. He didn’t fail. He just did the experiment in 1000 wrongs ways and then found the working formulae on 1001th time. Similar to that kids don’t consider falling from the cycle as a failure or setback. They just learn the lesson and move on.

Time Keeping

If you call your coworker for launch 10 min before regular time. Their reaction would be “No, Why 10 minutes earlier? ”. Adults fix time for most of the things. Time to sleep, time to read a book and time to fix the time. Having disciple is great. But sticking with time regardless of the situation, only takes the joy out of life. Kids do things which they think right at the moment. Not one second earlier or later. That’s why kids cry when we force them to do something based on our schedule.

Celebration

At max, we celebrate 5 times a year. It may be our birthday, close friends marriage and some other family functions. But celebration for kids is daily activity. My niece gives me huge high-five every time when she wrote letter “K” correctly.

Though learning from kids are not easy as it seems. But at least trying to learn from them, makes life little easier.

Thanks for traveling along with me till here. Hit the little heart button on the left side. It means a lot to me.

--

--