Hello Generative Art with P5.JS

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
Random Pink Hula
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2021
its kind of pretty. image source available on my behance profile

Last year, around this time. Yes. It was August. I met a student on UpWork. He was looking for a JavaScript tutor. I told him that I am a mediocre but ‘guy who can hack his way through any type of coding’ tutor who can guide him.

He agreed. We ended up working together for almost 5 months. I think, I helped him throughout his entire semester.

That was when I was introduced to P5.JS. At that time, it was simply one of the dozens of libraries I am continuously exposed to every month as part of my job as a full time freelance tutor.

P5.JS grabbed my attention. I remember drawing spiderman and batman by looking at comic books. They looked pretty good. I thought I will become a artist. However, I had other issues to deal with — abusive father. poverty. no money to eat food or pay fees or even travel to my first job. Over the years, the creative side of me, simply died.

However, for the last few years, my financial situation has improved slightly. The pandemic did set me back. However, slowly, very very, and very, slowly, the mountain of pandemic debt is reducing. I have been trying to rejuvenate my artistic mind. I have dabbled in photography, fashion (even joined a fashion college before marriage put an end to it) and digital art generation.

I must have spent thousands of dollars over the last 3 years, equipping myself with the necessary skills, computer hardware, network of artists and connections.

Finally, I think, I am ready to generate art.

Yesterday, was the last piece of the puzzle. Finishing the essential studying of JavaScript and Data Structures. That last piece took me 9 months. I did not give up. I finally finished it.

This, ‘random walk’ art, is my first effort.

same image as before. image source available on my behance profile

It’s very simple and not earth shattering. However, I like it.

The background color was chosen by mom, who watched in awe as the software etched away the artwork over 2 hours, one dot at a time. She sat in front of the computer screen, a feeling of joy and amazement, watching a computer software library (P5.JS) make this image.

Yes, watching mom look amazed alone was worth all these years of investment.

Next? Ah! Exciting times lie ahead of us.

I work as a full time freelance coding tutor. Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr or Stack Overflow. My personal website is here. Find more of my art at Behance and Unsplash.

--

--