Photorealistic Rendering with Daz 3D — 1

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
Random Pink Hula
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2022
technology, eh? what else will they invent next.

About six months ago, I accidentally stumbled into Daz 3D. I was looking at Steam ‘dating’ games. Wife has just decided to leave me once and for all. So, I wanted to play games of romance.

Perhaps that was my way of getting some emptiness in my life filled at that moment. Steam had a bunch of dating games, some of which were highly rated. I was about to buy some of them. Most of them were like $10 or $20. Not so high that I will end up with buyers remorse, in case, Steam refuses a refund.

Note: All the above images are available on my behance profile.

Then, just before I hit the buy button, it occurred to me, how did the game developers build such realistic, hot, attractive, perfect, large breasted women?

I have always been like that. When I was 17, I was so curious about the TRLE that came with Tomb Raider Chronicles game disc, I spent hours and days building my own tomb raider levels. I even added my own custom textures and music to the levels.

Curiosity is an interesting devil to be friend with.

So, I started running all over the internet, reddit, forums, steam community. The answer was located in the product reviews.

“If you guys want to hang around with digital women, just buy whichever woman figure you want on the Daz 3D marketplace and play around to your hearts content”

I am paraphrasing, of course. So, I found myself on the website of Daz 3D. Around that time, it just so happens, that I was planning to buy a RTX 3060 desktop computer. Meanwhile, I already had my HP Gaming Desktop GTX 1060 while I get my RTX 3060. As I type this, in February 2022, I am in fact, rendering a new image on the RTX.

Also, now that I was separate from the wife, and she took our twin baby girls with her, I was suddenly blessed with a lot more free time. For years now, my work hours have been less (on an average work week, I work for about 15 to 20 hours). I assumed, with the family around, I would fill all that free time by playing with the two baby girls.

But, god had other plans for me. I became single again. It’s sad and depressing. But, when life gives you lemons. You make lemonade, day and night.

So, now, I once again had so much of free time. So, installed Daz 3D on both of my computers. I started going through all the tutorials. experimenting with lighting, rendering settings, playing around with poses…oh yeah.

Final Note

Anyway, a lot of stuff in life happen by accidents.

About 18 months ago, one of my clients asked me to help him out with P5.JS. Today, I am able to generate creative art and making a decent amount of money with P5.JS library.

Thanks to my exposure to Daz 3d, I have some experience with playing around with lot of other 3D tools. I am now dabbling in Unreal for gaming and ArchViz. I have managed to do some renders on SketchUp and V-Ray.

Some day, some of these skills might up earning me some chimmi changas. Also, this 3D photo-realistic rendering is fun. It complements my obsession with photography.

I work as a full time freelance coding tutor. Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr or Stack Overflow. My personal website is here. Find more of my art at Behance and Unsplash. Also, I have a Podcast. Also, I am on substack.

--

--