My Favorite Chrome Extensions

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

Honey

Honey automatically checks the price of the Amazon products I’m looking at and shows a widget that confirms that this is the lowest price and provides additional information (price graph, receive notifications on price changes, …)

As a privacy geek I had a hard time giving an extension access that allows it to track my browser but after I short trial period it repeatedly showed value and make me use it recurringly and save money.

My favorite use-case is when it notifies me that the product I’m currently viewing has another Prime seller at the same price but without taxes which is something that Amazon does not take into account when picking a seller.

Blank New Tab

To reduce distractions and increase productivity I strongly prefer to start a new browser tab with an empty white page and this is what this tiny 2k extension does.

Using chrome extension has a privacy risk involved as information might leak from your computer. Whenever I’m using niche extension, I strongly prefer open source extensions to reduce the risk and make sure they are not doing anything that they are not supposed to do.
Both this extension and the next one are open source.

Google Search Navigator

I’m a heavy keyboard user and one of the things that bothered me that each Google search resulted in using the mouse as there’s no way to move between results using the keyboard. Google Search Navigator solves that …

Gmelius

Gmelius is an awesome geeky extension that improves gmail productivity. My favorite features include: snooze emails, send later, block email trackers

I know that the name of this extension is horrible but give it a chance :)

It improved my productivity so much that I paid for the premium version even though the free version included all the features I needed.

Loom

If you’re doing collaborative product work and do not know Loom yet — you should!

Loom lets you easily record your screen + webcam + audio. This is our goto tool to provide product feedback in our distributed team.

Grammarly

I first tried Grammarly after a friend who frequently contributes articles to major news outlets told me it’s a mandatory piece in her writing workflow. The free version is a bit upsetting as it shows you the value of what would happen if you will pay without giving you the actual value.

Bottom line, today I use Grammarly inside Gmail and whenever I publish anything.

The only downside is that it does not work with Medium & Dropbox Paper.

Note: paid version is super expensive.

uBlock Origin

Probably the lightest (memory consumption wise) and most efficient ad blocker.

1Password

An obvious one (I hope for you! :).

Pocket

Another obvious one…

--

--

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal

Building Products @ Stripe, Product Geek & Family Guy