The weird iOS bugs nobody talk about

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal
Published in
1 min readJan 14, 2016

It’s often said that when an Android user encounters a bug, he/she will complain about the operating-system while a similar scenario with an iOS user will end with the user saying “What did I do wrong?” assuming that Apple has created the perfect product.

While the iPhone is indeed a great product I find it weird that there’re some bugs that just stay there for a while.

I just discovered that my contacts do not automatically sync with Gmail. Thinking to myself that I must have done something wrong I searched the web and found that there’re many discussions on the topic (this one is short and to the point).

As it turns out, since iOS 9 gmail contacts automatic automatically sync is broken. There’re multiple discussion on the web as for different workarounds. The simplest one that worked for most is that whenever you want to sync contacts simply go to Settings -> iCloud and wait few seconds. That makes total sense, right?

The bug started from iOS 9 in September and we’re now in Jan with iOS 9.2 out.

Yes, Android (specifically the Nexus product line) is far from being perfect but when it comes to the core applications. There’re rapid updates & bug fixes.

--

--

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal

Building Products @ Stripe, Product Geek & Family Guy