Tip: Discover what apps & services run as part of MacOS boot

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal
Published in
1 min readDec 1, 2017
Recent MacOS vulnerability report

The recent MacOS vulnerability made me wonder what runs when my computer boots. I knew that there’re items in the “Users & Groups” but it was clear that it’s not everything that loads automatically.

For example, apps like Fantastical & Jumpshare did not appear in the above list.

Following a quick research, I’ve found 4 folders that are being scanned as part of the boot sequence in binaries in them are automatically executed.

These are the folders:

/Library/LaunchDaemons//Users/dreamer/Library/LaunchAgents/Library/PrivilegedHelperTools//Library/Preferences/

There’s also another folder that is recommended to look at but the logic of its content is much less straightforward:

/Library/Application Support/

I’ve found left-overs from apps I uninstalled a while ago as well as Apps that I use but do not want them to pre-load themselves unnecessarily.

I bet that almost anyone who will check what is in these folders will be surprised.

--

--

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal

Building Products @ Stripe, Product Geek & Family Guy