Tip: Using WhatsApp as a Notes Stream

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal
Published in
2 min readNov 17, 2017

Couple of years ago I was looking for a solution to quickly collect text notes, links and voice memos for myself.

For me, notes are often short term as I take them on the go and expect to translate them into a real action not too long after.

A good solution should:

  1. Sync seamlessly between mobile & desktop
  2. Do not require maintenance. old notes should just fade away
  3. Voice memos are a must

Evernote, Google Keep, Apple Notes and bunch of other tools were not efficient enough for me for the specific use-cases.

As a frequent user of WhatsApp I explored using it for that purpose, and it worked extremely well!
The simple solution is achieved by creating a group only with myself (to do it you need to add someone and remove him/her).

How do I use it?

  1. I share from any app to that group to store links
  2. The group is pinned at the in my WhatsApp chats list for quick access. Mostly to record voice memos
  3. WhatsApp for Mac is running on my laptop (mostly to consume the notes)

The motivation for sharing this workflow came from noticing that I’ve created this group exactly two years ago. This is probably solution that sticked the longest with me…

--

--

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal

Building Products @ Stripe, Product Geek & Family Guy