Twitter’s Daily Active Users (DAU)

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal
Published in
1 min readFeb 12, 2017

After reading Snap’s S1 I wanted to compare it to Twitter so I listened to Twitter’s Q4 2016 earnings call.

My immediate reaction — Twitter do not want me to listen to the call.
The webcast is using flash :(
Given how easy it is to share audio these days I’m convinced it’s somewhat intentional.

Snap focus is on DAU and this is their main (if not only) number they talk about. Same for Facebook across its multiple assets (eg WhatsApp & Instagram). On the other hand, twitter is only talking about MAU which makes me think that their DAU is much lower. My bet, 1/5 of the MAU.

Assuming that DAU is indeed the most important number and they do not share it doesnt it create conflict of alignment between internal KPIs and public KPIs?

No matter if the teams are doing awesome or horrible job to increase DAU, it will not be reflected in the progress they are making and as a result in the stock price.

--

--

Nir Dremer
Nir Dremer Journal

Building Products @ Stripe, Product Geek & Family Guy