Image Courtesy: Adroit Detective

[#16] Betrayal

The worst feeling in a relationship

Apurva Chawla
Random Tales
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2016

--

AAman ran behind Ria out of the coffee shop. “Ria! Ria Stop, please! Listen to me!”
Ria didn’t stop. She wiped her tears away and kept walking.

Aman caught up with her and held her hand. “Ria, Listen to me.” He said a bit loudly. Your father was hospitalized the same day. I couldn’t break it to you on the same day!”

Ria turned around and stared at him. “It’s been months. You had enough time! You should have told this to me!”

“I know. I know! But I would hate myself for telling this to you when Miss. Lilly had already died. I just thought everything would be fine now and I should let this thing go.. I am sorry.”

“Aman, I feel so betrayed right now. Dad and Miss. Lilly! and you betrayed me too! You should have told me, Aman. I don’t know where Dad is right now. Just let me go. I’ll have to find him.”

She broke free of his hold and started walking away. Aman walked with her. “Let’s go find Uncle. Did you check everywhere?”

“Aman just leave me alone.” She said, crying.

He hugged her and said, “Shh. I am sorry. But I knew it would hurt you and I wanted to avoid it as much as possible. Let’s go find Uncle right now.”

XVI

Ria’s mother had tried calling everywhere. His office. His colleagues. His old friends. He was nowhere. She had started to get worried. She couldn’t stop crying the whole night. She thought he would return in the morning but he didn’t. She had already asked Ria to come home.

Ria came home with Aman and they decided to check hospitals as well. Aman went out to look for him in smaller clinics while Ria stayed with her Mom and called everywhere possible.
After 2 hours, They received a call from an unknown number. Ria picked up the phone. It was Ria’s Dad.

“Dad, where are you! We are really worried here.”

“Ria, I am fine. Give me some time, please. Don’t look for me.”

“Dad but where are you right now?”

“I am with a friend. Take care of your Mom.” He hung up.

Ria called Aman to inform him what her Dad had said and asked him to go home. She was still mad at him and didn’t want to see him at the moment.

Next evening, Mr. Malhotra returned home. He was in a messed up condition and it seemed like he had cried a lot in the past 2 days. Mrs. Malhotra didn’t ask him anything. She didn’t even talk to him. She waited for him to explain everything to her but he didn’t. He took a shower and went to sleep.

Ria had forgiven Aman by now and he had promised to share everything with her from then on. Ria told him about her Mom’s state. She wouldn’t talk to anybody now. Ria was afraid that she might go into a depression if she doesn’t talk. They didn’t know what to do. Her Dad was not saying a word. He was neither accepting his extra marital affair nor denying it. Nothing. This was bothering the family the most. The uncertainty of the matter. Ria kept the ring with herself. She decided to find out.

If you like this story, please hit the ❤️ below to recommend it and help others find it!

Follow @_randomtales on Twitter

--

--