[#4] A Phone Call

Aditi Agarwal
Random Tales
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2016

in a Random Tiny Tale titled End Of His World

Image Courtesy: Stocksnap

The story begins with The Result:

“Y“Yes dad,” Shiv answered.

“ Beta, your result was supposed to come today right?

Lie, Lie, Lie! His subconscious screamed.

“ Yes..”

“And…?”

Lie, Lie, Lie! Please!

He looked at Preeti who gave him a small encouraging nod while taking his hands in hers.

“ I failed dad.”

A silence loud enough to break mountains descended.

“ It’s time for you to come home Shiv.”

“But dad..”, Shiv’s voice trembled with fear. He couldn’t control his tears and burst out crying, “ Please dad, I promise next year….next year I swear I will pass. Please..please give me another chance!”

“ For God’s sake Shiv, at least once in your life act like a man. Stop Crying.”

Dread filled Shiv’s heart. Even the idea of leaving Delhi nauseated him. Leaving Delhi would mean leaving the love of his life, theater, forever and he couldn’t even imagine a single day without it.

No, he was not leaving Delhi. He looked at Preeti and smiled as a plan formed in his head.

So, dad thinks I am not a man is it? Well, time to prove him wrong.

Follow @_randomtales on Twitter

The story continues tomorrow. Follow Random Tales to stay updated.


If you like this story, please hit the ❤️ below to recommend it and help others find it!

--

--

Aditi Agarwal
Random Tales

I write because there is nothing else that makes me connect to myself more & be in this moment.