Retirement

Can you comfortably retire?

S. L. Archer
Random Thought Blog
2 min readOct 25, 2023

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Retirement is a phase of life when an individual stops working, typically after reaching a certain age or fulfilling specific criteria, such as having saved enough money to support themselves without regular employment. It’s a time for people to enjoy their later years, pursue hobbies, travel, and relax, often supported by retirement savings, pensions, or social security benefits.

This is exactly what many think of when retirement is mentioned.

Do you actually know anyone who’s living comfortably off their retirement plan? I’m not talking about the rich or wealthy but regular Joe and Jane down the street.

Photo by Esther Ann on Unsplash

My grandmother retired from one job and got another job soon after.

I was confused.

Retirement = No work

That is not the case for some people.

I just have the concept that I will be working until I can’t work anymore.

Nothing is guaranteed.

The way the economy is and the inflation right now, I’m in survival mode and I know others who are too.

The unknown is scary.

How much savings is enough? Everything is an estimated value.

What will retirement look like for millennials?

I’m tired of working right now.

Are we taking everything into account such as being disabled, sickness, accidents?

I know this article is asking plenty of questions.

I just don’t know the answers.

Just my daily thoughts.

--

--

S. L. Archer
Random Thought Blog

Introverted and misunderstood. I love writing but still trying to find my voice. Writing what I feel and think.