Falsework on bay bridge construction

Wishes for Medium

Braden Kowitz
2 min readNov 17, 2012

From way back in Jan 2013

I was so excited to get an invite and try out Medium today. After playing around with the product for a few hours, I’m even more excited!

Medium is just getting started, so I know there’s lots of things that it can’t do quite yet. Here are some of my wishes for what I hope the product will be able to do next:

I wish I could talk to people. I saw Dan Pupius’ post on quality, and wanted to start a conversation with him about cultures of quality in organizations. But I couldn’t find any way to comment or send him a message. I think that’s a missed opportunity to begin forming a community.

I wish I could could find what I’ve read. After reading Dan’s post, I tried to link to it above. Wow was it hard to find it again! I wish there was search. I wish there was a list of what I’ve recommended.

I wish I knew what recommending was for. It’s a beautiful button, and it sounds good. But I can’t figure out what it does.

I wish I could get around easier. The menu navigation is beautiful and minimal, but it perplexes me. It’s tough to find my own stuff. It’s hard to find more to read.

I wish posting was easier. It’s surprisingly hard for me to navigate to a place where I can write. Which is unfortunate, because writing here is beautiful, simple, and easy.

I wish I had an audience. Now that I’ve posted here, it feels like a void. I have a good audience on twitter, so I shared something from Medium there. But I feel like I’m sending people into a black hole, with no way to re-share what they find interesting, no way to participate and no way to talk to me.

Most of all, I wish the Medium team all the best. This is already such a beautiful product, and I know it will only get better. The team is amazingly talented (and nice). I’m so excited to see what happens next.

Unlisted

--

--

Braden Kowitz

Co-founder @RangeLabs. Writing about product, design, and how to build high-performing teams.