May the Queen of Soul Rest in Peace and Power

Richard
Rants and Raves
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2018

Aretha Franklin’s career heyday occurred before I was born, but she has consistently loomed large in popular culture for my entire life. Last year, I took a deeper dive into her catalogue of hits and was blown away by what I discovered. Here is a brief tribute to the Queen of Soul.

Just a few hours after I had put the finishing touches on a tribute to the Queen of Pop in honor of her 60th birthday, the news hit that the Queen of Soul had passed. What a day for pop music royalty hailing from Michigan.

Aretha Franklin was a legend of the highest order; a towering figure in the music industry who was universally respected, admired, and beloved. The instant outpouring of passionate tributes from fellow musicians, politicians, artists of every kind, and various prominent public figures provides clear evidence of this.

She was born in Memphis, Tennessee in 1942 and by the age of 25 had established herself as a formidable musical force. Songs like “Respect” and “Think” were soul masterpieces that became intertwined with the civil rights and feminist movements. Covers of songs like “(You Make Me Feel) Like a Natural Woman” and “Bridge Over Troubled Water” are unforgettable ballads with some of the best vocals ever recorded. And then there’s “Baby I Love You,” “Do Right Woman, Do Right Man,” “Chain of Fools,” “Don’t Play That Song,” “Spanish Harlem,” “Something He Can Feel,” and “Freeway of Love,” not to mention classic collaborations with George Michael (“I Knew You Were Waiting”), Whitney Houston (“It Isn’t, It Wasn’t, It Ain’t Never Gonna Be”), Eurythmics (“Sisters Are Doing it for Themselves”), and Elton John (“Through the Storm.”) I could go on, but I won’t.

Despite the fact that the hottest portion of her career was starting to reach its end when I was born, it was nearly impossible to grow up in the 1980s and 1990s in the United States without knowing who Aretha was. Her songs were deeply embedded into popular culture and she had become an iconic, almost mythical figure. I still remember the first time I really saw her. It was during the 1998 “Divas Live” fundraiser that aired on VH1. Seeing contemporary superstars like Mariah Carey, Celine Dion, Gloria Estefan, and Shania Twain pay tribute to her, sing along side her, and ultimately bow in deference to her was an eye-opener about the influence this artist had on the world of music.

Shortly after Carrie Fisher’s unexpected death in 2016, I decided to finally watch one of my parents’ favorite films, the 1980s comedy classic The Blues Brothers. When Aretha Franklin showed up as Mrs. Murphy and delivered her stunning rendition of “Think” I remember deciding then and there that I would get to know Aretha better. And I did. Shortly thereafter, I took a deeper dive into her catalogue of hits and was blown away by what I discovered.

Even though I was late to the game, it provides great solace to know that Aretha’s genius was appreciated while she was alive. She was the first woman admitted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. She won 18 competitive Grammys and 3 additional lifetime achievement awards from the Recording Academy. She was feted by Washington, D.C. with the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the National Arts Award, and the Kennedy Center Honors.

In addition to being a legendary musician, Aretha was a civil rights and feminist icon and by all accounts a great humanitarian. The scope of her impact is one that I as a 34-year-old white man cannot possibly begin to comprehend. I look forward to reading the continuing outpouring of tributes and further getting to know the Queen of Soul.

5 Essential Videos:

Follow the author on Medium and Twitter.

Read recent articles by this writer about pop legends Mariah Carey and Elton John.

--

--

Richard
Rants and Raves

Passionate cinephile. Music lover. Classic TV junkie. Awards season blogger. History buff. Avid traveler. Mental health and social justice advocate.