Treasure Chest: February Hearts

Sky Taylor
Rap Island
Published in
3 min readFeb 14, 2020

Welcome to the first write up of the series Treasure Chest where I write about 3 slept on audio gems that will always have a place in my heart. These songs may be from unsung artists or album cuts of a well known artist. I will not be include any songs that reached the top 10 of any billboard chart.

I was going back and forth about the time period I should cover. My music knowledge goes from the 1960s to the present. Of course, it gets stronger as time goes on. I didn’t want to include new music but it was definitely some shit going on in the early 2010s that will forever be in my heart. I want to focus on rap, or songs that inspired rap. So the time period will be:

1975–2015

Genres: Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul, R&B

Nell ft Amber London- Da Phonky South 2012

My 1st pick comes from the magical year of 2012. (one day I will write about why that year was so special to me). The Raider Klan movement was in full force and many different rappers popped up and started claiming the collective. This track is by Nell from the original Florida chapter, on his debut project 90s Mentality.

“Da Phonky South” features one of my favorite rappers from the super group, Amber London. Amber was on a roll around this time, slaying every song she was featured on before dropping her own Raider Klan debut project. She came on this song and ripped it apart.

I can be so obsessive with samples and this beat always sounded familiar. However, I loved it with out obsessing over it, it was my rolling up song. Its surprising that I just realized the sample is Jill Scott’s “Show Me” just last year.

Zhane- Vibe 1994

Up second is a B-side from the popular Mid 90s R&B Soul duo Zhane. They got their start from DJ Jazzy Jeff, providing background vocals for the Fresh Prince hit “Summer Time.” After recording a hit of their own “Hey Mr. DJ,” Naughty by Nature co-produced their debut album Pronounced Jah-Nay featuring “Vibe.”

I discovered this song like I discover many others, during deep twitter diving. “Vibe” caught my ear as I watched people dance in an old Soul Train episode that aired in the 90s. The upbeat instrumental with Hip-Hop elements embedded that makes you want to jam somehow matches perfectly with the duo’s soulfully angelic voices. Another hidden gem that proves how amazing the 90s were.

The Genius ft Prince Rakeem — Pass the Bone 1991

Yes, the Wu-Tang Saga on Hulu brought me here. I consider myself a big Wu-tang Klan fan so I instantly had to listen to this early song that represented what the members of the Wu would grow to become.

Listening to “Pass the Bone,” I realized the RZA was right throughout the whole series, this should have been the single! RZA’s production wasn’t quite developed yet but it still sounded very unique compared to the poppy, girl targeted singles “Ooh I love you, Rakeem” and “Come Do Me.”

I was surprised how seasoned GZA sounded. He always sounded comfortable on the mic but I expected for him to be lacking in skill like RZA, he was Prince Rakeem, not as sharp yet. Seems like he just shorted his name to GZA and adopted a heavier voice and a harsher delivery to fit the Wu-Tang vision. A great peak into amazing minds before the fame.

--

--

Sky Taylor
Rap Island

From Chicago, strong passion for Hip-Hop music. Artist development & music discovery for 10+ years. Writer of Culture. Writer|Artist|Manger|DJ