Now we’re sailing (part 6)

Wednesday June 8th

Mark Russell
Rapa Iti Voyage 2016
2 min readJul 1, 2016

--

We switched into a new mode on board today. I suspect it is partly as a result of the galvanising effect of yesterday’s excitement. Up to now some watches have been a bit hard, the weather has been a bit hard, the seas have been a bit hard, the routine has been a bit hard. Today we had a few hours of music playing throughout the boat, the sun was shining outside, whoever was on watch had the door to the main cabin open and we chatted in and out, and the wind has come around favourably to being straight off our starboard side… now we were blue water sailing. What a relief!

I’ve been trying to film the albatross flying around the boat, with only limited success. They don’t come all that close, and the camera on my phone is probably not the perfect instrument for the job. However, I have captured some clips that I hope to turn into a video to accompany a whistle tune I am composing during my time off. This is not it:

The voyage to Rapa Iti

--

--

Mark Russell
Rapa Iti Voyage 2016

Marine Conservation enthusiast and sometimes writer living and working on Waiheke Island, New Zealand.