Curiosity Lab Vox Pop with Ashley Alleyne

RAPP UK
RAPP UP
Published in
2 min readAug 2, 2019

RAPP hosts ongoing Curiosity Lab sessions where members of the agency present a topic they are passionate about, both work-related and other. This series serves to inform, stimulate and develop greater familiarity and comradery across the business while celebrating the fierce individuals around us. Here is an interview with Ashley Alleyne about his inspiring lab about what makes him tick.

What has ‘made’ you?

I was ‘made’ by so many different people and perspectives. Family shaped my idea of commitment and loyalty. Friends made my humour genuinely, genuinely ridiculous. My sister and brother made me part of the best club I’ve ever joined.

My identity made me, and by that I mean it showed me how I was understood (and when to adhere to or defy that understanding.) It gave me communities, experiences and a lens on the world that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

But most importantly, food. Food made me. All I know is eating.

Who or what inspires you?

People who are really resilient. The ones that can go through hard things and never lose the ability of seeing the best in things. People who have loads and loads of patience and understanding. Authors. My parents.

What have you learned that you intend to pass on?

You’ll get what you allow: Kindness doesn’t mean compliance, and allowing some behaviour compromises your kindness to yourself.

Don’t doubt your slay: Comparison is a killer, and it encourages you to doubt the unique things that YOU bring.

Don’t underestimate your impact: There’s a great quote by Maya Angelou that helped me realise the effect we have on the people around us. “People will forget what you said, they will forget what you did, but they’ll never forget how you made them feel”. That’s an idea worth passing forward.

--

--