Curiosity Lab Vox Pop with Nora von Arnim

RAPP UK
RAPP UP
Published in
3 min readAug 20, 2020

RAPP hosts ongoing Curiosity Lab sessions where members of the agency present a topic they are passionate about, both work-related and other. This series serves to inform, stimulate and develop greater familiarity and comradery across the business while celebrating the fierce individuals around us. Here is an interview with Nora von Arnim about her inspiring lab about what makes her tick.

What has ‘made’ you?

My upbringing in a loving family that never forced their ideas of success or relationship structures on me but let me explore for myself and find what works for me. I was free to be myself and London played a big part in this as it let me broaden my horizon further and feel like I fit in not despite but because of my extrovertedness, directness and hunger for exploring art, fashion and obviously food on the many street food markets around town.

Who or what inspires you?

Being brought up and influenced by many fearless women has shaped me into the woman I am today. I am a feminist in progress with lots to learn but I try my best to raise up the woman around me and learn from them. Having women from so many different backgrounds doing so many different jobs in my life enables me to learn a great deal and enriches my life so much and expands my horizon continuously. I cherish this exchange and I want to surround myself with people that feel the same.

The fearless women in my family and friendship grouos have inspired me to always stand up for not just myself but for what I believe in and encourage others to do the same.

What have you learned that you intend to pass on?

“It’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” — Marilyn Monroe

I live by this because I would always rather be myself than trying to be a version of me that other people expect or feel more comfortable with.

“There is freedom waiting for you, On the breezes of the sky, And you ask “What if I fall?” Oh but my darling, What if you fly?”

This is a quote by Australian poet Erin Hanson has inspired me to come to London on my own at 18 and find a job because I wanted to live her and because I needed to push myself out of the comfort zone of home and explore life in a new and exciting city. I always want to learn new things and whenever I push past my comfort zone I do exactly that and it helps me grow.

“Unusual things don’t happen on straight paths.” — Goethe

This is a quote my great grandmother referred too in the books she wrote and I think this holds true for me today as well. There is this expectation that a woman has to be married by 25, bought a house by 28 and have her first child at 30, and even people my age struggle a lot to understand that I have different goals for different stages in my life .

I want to shift this idea to show that you can live a great life without ticking off all these boxes at a prescribed age, to make a conscious choice to live life by your own rules.

I refuse to let my life be ruled by society’s idea of what it means to be a woman and I hope that others have the courage to do the same. And by that I am not judging women that make these choices, I am merely saying everyone needs to do what’s right for them. In a “live, and let live.” kind of way.

--

--