Fairytale

Aniria
Raptor Lit
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2021

By Ashlin Lipscomb

Edited by Callie Rowland, Aniria Williams, Savasia Thompson, and David McConico

Ready to drop a ring after two weeks

So eager to meet

But in the flesh, not in the middle

Where things make sense

You got your head in the clouds love

You see sparkles and rainbows

You’re blinded by how far you dove

Everything’s rosy and perfect

The future’s all planned out

You shut reality out

It’s not that simple

Finishing your life in adolescence

Finishing it off after a lack of my presence

Needing me

Sitting in bubbles together

Saying I love you first

Until the bubble bursts

My doing

I woke up

Always keeping you afloat

Until I’m honest and you choke

And spiral

And spin

And cry

And starve

Craving me

Pining for me

Pining away

Wanting me to stay

Telling yourself you knew you’d end up heartbroken

It wasn’t my intention but maybe it was inevitable

It’s probably a blessing that one of us can see

I consider myself venerable

An idealist you are

And a daydreamer

Wanting me to be sweeter

To a fantasy

Not being able to appreciate you have me

And I’ll stay if you let me

This is real

Not a fairytale

Lift that rose-tinted veil

And just enjoy me being here

Instead of being more excited about me being there

At the altar

In a home with you

We’re not there yet even though I want them to come true

We’re here

And we’re young

Let’s just revel in who we are and not who we’ll become

Ashlin Lipscomb, better known as Ash, is a high school senior from Atlanta, Georgia. She is 17-years-old and revels in the hobbies of writing and drawing. She aspires to study art and become a full-time artist.

--

--

Aniria
Raptor Lit

24. Creative writing major and avid reader.