From Where I Stand

Aniria
Raptor Lit
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2021

By Aniria Williams

Edited by: David McConico, Kaleb Knowles, Ruquayya Sajjida

Never would I have thought to be here

Surrounded by the claws of my own expectations

Taught nerves bring tangible fears showing a twisted reality

The shadows of these four walls constrict with each day

From one hug to the next kiss, life has forever changed

Towards the future, my hope wanes

Three moments full of screaming walls

The weekend ebbs as my anxiety crawls

Life filled with tense confessions and direct avoidance

Never would I have felt the emotions coming

Brain riddled with anxiety

My feet trudge across the tan tiles, each step dragging on for miles

Body tipsy from exhaustion

Heartbeat racing, levels beyond sobriety

Tears fall on cotton fabric, knees bend, my mind dances about

Disappointment hugs the curves of my plush prison now

Never would I have embraced the consequences

Tone switches around new company

Golden sparkles surround me to protect my energy

Hands softly trace along my body hair to make a barrier

Denied access to my new carrier

Cut ties that bind for they’re toxic

Cause unwarranted soul ties just make me sick

Never would I have found a new perspective

Envelope new conversations that flow through my sanctuary

These four walls glow with remembered lessons

Stay consistent, to live is to build anew

Flip the script, you now know what you must do

Break the walls around your subconscious

Bring down the barriers that restrict you

Because without sacrifice, your insecurities will surely destroy you

Aniria Williams currently attends Spalding University as a Creative Writing Major. She is the host of a podcast titled WTF Is Life and is an affiliate streamer on Twitch. Nestled in the city of Louisville, Kentucky she can be found trying out the local foodies and discovering the hidden gems of the city.

--

--

Aniria
Raptor Lit

24. Creative writing major and avid reader.