Therefore

Callie Rowland
Raptor Lit
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2021

Written by Jay Hedgspeth; Edited by Callie Rowland

For we were once beautiful

For we were once this world of light

We are now broken and dim

Covered in shadow cast by our gilded past,

Finding shattered pieces of you in me

Touchstones to you scattered around my life

The scent of you still clinging to my jacket

The touch of you still tangible on my lips,

What am I to do with all I know of you

That you always like to balance sweet and savory

That stroking your face makes you feel loved

What am I to do with what’s left of us?

I am made an imposter by circumstance,

A romantic with no muse

Singing love songs to none

The agonizing, mind crippling withdrawals from you

Desperate cravings that are impossible to fill,

To feel your familiar form

Walking the trail of our memories

Trying to see how the end fit with the rest

Our souls were two pieces of the same puzzle, you didn’t agree.

Therefore

Therefore

Therefore

I am left empty and incomplete.

I am left full of purposeless things.

I am left a paradox, and so utterly alone.

Jay Hedgspeth is a songwriter and poet currently living in Northern California. He pulls much of his inspiration and literary style from the musician Bon Iver, and the poet Edgar Holmes. This is his first published work of poetry, and his music can be found under the name Leto Bris.

--

--

Callie Rowland
Raptor Lit

Callie is a Kentucky-based writer currently pursuing a Creative Writing BFA at Spalding University. She loves books, tea, and playing with her cats.