When I Look Into His Eyes

Written by: Taylor Yuen

Taylor Yuen
Raptor Lit
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Edited by: Callie Rowland, Savasia Thompson and Taylor Yuen

Laying down

Flat on my back, staring at the cream colored ceiling

I turn my head to the left and my

Bright blue eyes meet his

When I look into his eyes I see a bright blue sky

On a sunny day and I never want to look away

It can be blinding after a while, but I can’t stop

When I look into his eyes I see a bright blue ocean that shines

Like the cross necklace he gave me on our first date

I remember that day

I never thought that day would’ve led us here

When I look into his eyes I see the bright blue butterflies

Fluttering from inside my stomach

In the beginning I felt nervous, but eventually I broke through

When I look into his eyes I see bright blue stars we gazed at

When we were laying on the dark green grass

That night

My legs were as dry as sandpaper and the

Grass was scratching them

But I couldn’t bring myself to get up

Both of us laid flat on our backs looking up at the sky

Without looking at each other our hands moved

Closer and closer towards each other

Our fingertips touched and I felt chills all over my body

Goosebumps everywhere

As our fingers interlocked the feeling intensified

Was it the brisk air? Or was it him?

He lightly squeezed my hand

I started to squeeze his back

In this moment I felt peace, there was no other place

I’d rather be

In this moment, nothing else existed

It was just us

Hours and hours passed

No words were exchanged, we just laid there

It was so quiet, we could hear the crickets chirp

And hear flies buzz past our ears

At the same time we lifted our heads up

I turned my head left, he turned his head right

“I love you”

Our bright blue eyes locked and at that moment

“I love you too”

I felt like we were the only two people that existed

It’s been almost a year since then and

I still have that feeling every time

He enters a room

And every time say we say “I love you”

It feels like the first time

Taylor Yuen (She/Her) is a young undergraduate writer who attends Spalding University, in the process of getting her Bachelors Degree in Creative Writing. In her free time she enjoys writing poetry and learning about astrology.

--

--