Many Thanks to Scott Gietler for These Remarkable Photos!

Michael Bear
Rapture of the Deep
1 min readApr 12, 2010

Scott says about his encounters:

I was blessed with the opportunity to swim with the jellyfish-loving Mola mola this past weekend!

It was my 3rd Mola mola ever, but my 1st close-up encounter.

After properly addressing the Mola-mola and getting permission to swim with it, the Mola-mola allowed me to accompany it for several minutes. Always safety conscious, the Mola-mola always kept on eye on me as a good buddy should. And the end of our swim, I gave him a pet and sent him on his way. I was sure to point the way towards the hundreds of jellies that I also saw that day, so he could properly feast.

Pelagic invertebrates were in abundance. Sightings included hundreds of sea butterflies, various jellies, a couple color-flashing comb jellies, a clear fish and a siphonophore.

More photos are here:

--

--