Profile: Dida Kutz, Marine Conservationist, Science Diver and Explorers Club Member

Michael Bear
Rapture of the Deep
2 min readJun 28, 2010

[caption id=”attachment_6569" align=”aligncenter” width=”432" caption=”Photo: Dida Kutz”]

[/caption]

Dida Kutz is founder and publisher of http://www.blueplanetdivers.org/, a website that connects research institutions with potential science diver candidates, as well as editor of Point Lobos Magazine in Monterey.

You appear to have devoted your life to the ocean. What started you on that
path?

Gosh, a lot of things. I was an avid reader as a kid and our family had that Time-Life Nature Library, and my favorite book in that library was the one entitled The Sea. I also read Rachel Carson’s The Sea Around Us. And my dad built a sailboat in the backyard over four years and we used to sail out to the Channel Islands quite a bit. Actually, I enjoyed that the most of us three kids, and he and I used to take trips out there ourselves. In fact, I was completely blissed out by those trips, and fascinated by the huge pods of dolphins in the channel, the shark frenzies we sometimes encountered while we were trolling for fish, and of course by my dad scuba diving at Santa Cruz Island. So it was a combination of things, not one single event.

See link below for more:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/5530840/profile_dida_kutz_marine_conservationist.html?cat=58

--

--