Published in


Super Smash T20 2022–23: Overview and Squads

New Zealand’s domestic T20 tournament — Super Smash T20 started its 2022–23 season on the 23rd of December. The first edition of the tournament was played back in 2005–06, which makes it one of the oldest T20 leagues around the globe.

The tournament consists of 6 teams — Auckland Aces, Canterbury Kings, Central Stags, Northern Brave, Otago Volts and Wellington Firebirds. All the teams play each other twice in a round-robin format and the top 3 teams qualify for the playoffs.

The team at the top of the points table after the league stage directly qualifies for the finals and the other two teams play an “Eliminator” match to decide the second finalist. Northern Brave won the 2021–22 edition of the tournament and are the defending champions of this season. In this blog, you’ll get all the info you need to know about the Super Smash T20 2022–23.

Auckland Aces: Adithya Ashok, Cole Briggs, Mark Chapman, Louis Delport, Lockie Ferguson, Danru Ferns, Ryan Harrison, Ben Horne, Matt Gibson, Kyle Jamieson, Simon Keene, Ben Lister, Robert O’Donnell, Will O’Donnell, Sean Solia, Will Somerville, Quinn Sunde, Rosster Braak, George Worker, Martin Guptill

Central Stags: Ma’ara Ave, Tom Bruce, Doug Bracewell, Josh Clarkson, Dane Cleaver, Liam Dudding, Greg Hay, Curtis Heaphy, Jayden Lennox, Ajaz Patel, Seth Rance, Brett Randell, Brad Schmulian, Ben Smith, Blair Tickner, Ray Toole, Bayley Wiggins, Will Young, Jack Boyle, Will Clark, Mason Hughes, Brett Johnson, Ross Taylor

Canterbury Kings: Chad Bowes, Matt Boyle, Leo Carter, Blake Coburn, Sean Davey, Cam Fletcher, Zak Foulkes, Mitch Hay, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Ken McClure, Cole McConchie, Angus McKenzie, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ed Nuttall, Will O’Rourke, Fraser Sheat, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Theo van Woerkom, Todd Astle

Northern Brave: Peter Bocock, Joe Carter, Katene Clarke, Kristian Clarke, Henry Cooper, Matt Fisher, Zak Gibson, Brett Hampton, Scott Johnston, Scott Kuggeleijn, Bharat Popli, Tim Pringle, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Freddy Walker, Joe Walker, Kane Williamson, Anurag Verma, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme

Otago Volts: Matt Bacon, Max Chu, Jacob Cumming, Jacob Duffy, Josh Finnie, Dean Foxcroft, Jake Gibson, Andrew Hazeldine, Llew Johnson, Ben Lockrose, Jarrod McKay, Travis Muller, Dale Phillips, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rae, Michael Rippon, Hamish Rutherford

Wellington Firebirds: Finn Allen, Jakob Bhula, Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Luke Georgeson, Troy Johnson, Nick Kelly, Callum McLachlan, Iain McPeake, Adam Milne, Ollie Newton, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Nathan Smith, Michael Snedden, Logan van Beek, Peter Younghusband

While the teams will compete and win on the field, you can win off the field. How? All you need is to get Super Smash player cards from Rario and participate in different contests hosted on the D3. Club and the best part is that you can enter for FREE if you own the required cards! There are huge prizes on offer in every match of the Super Smash T20 2022–23.

A lot is coming up this winter on Rario. Make sure you stay ahead of things as we are dropping new player packs soon. Log on to Rario.com for more details. To get regular updates, follow us on Medium, Twitter, Discord and Instagram



Rario is a cricket fans’ club, where lovers of the sport can collect, trade and play with officially licensed player cards, video moments and cricket artefacts.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store