You Don’t Want To Miss This Famous Strawberry Festival

Rasha Haynes
Rasha Haynes-COMM 151
3 min readApr 2, 2019

If you were raised in Louisiana, then you know how Ponchatoula is known for their big, juicy strawberries.

As winter draws to a close and the weather starts to warm back up many locals are anticipating the 48th Annual Strawberry Festival, held at Memorial Park in the historical and beautiful city of Ponchatoula. This celebration not only has a rich history, but is also the largest fundraiser for non-profit and charitable organizations.

The outdoor festival will be held April 12–14 and will include food, rides and games, music and of course strawberries. As stated in their mission, the purpose of this festival came from wanting an all-volunteer board whose vision is to support other non-profit organizations, aid in student scholarships to local students and preserve the Louisiana Strawberry industry, heritage and farming families.

Back in 1972 the festival was started by local citizens who were also members of the Chamber Commerce and Junior Commerce. It was first located on the first block of North 6th Street and only featured 11 booths. Now it has grown to the size it is today with the help and support of the community.

Moreover to get a better local perspective, students were asked if they were looking forward to the festival coming up.

“I am so excited. I haven’t gone to anything fair related since I was a kid. I am originally from Baton Rouge so I have never been to the Strawberry Festival, but many of my friends have told me that it’s so much fun,” said Dara Calmes, SLU student.

Not everyone who lives in the state have been able to make the event but there are more and more visitors every year, coming only second to Mardi Gras in celebration and magnitude.

Calmes also added, “When I was a kid I used to always enter my artwork at the Livingston Parish Fair. I stopped going the older I got, so the Strawberry Festival has a lot of nostalgia for me. Also I don’t have to be forced to ride a roller coaster so that’s cool.”

Whether you are young or old the festival is great for people of all ages. So if you don’t plan on riding rides there will be two stages, both with live music that you can stay and hangout at for the day.

“I love enjoying all the lights and sounds and smells with my friends. It’s a sensory overload in the best way. I plan to eat and drink so much funnel cake and strawberry beer, plus yes support the local vendors!” exclaimed Calmes.

The locally brewed beer will be one of the many strawberry flavored items made to purchase. Including fresh Ponchatoula strawberries by the flat and the famous strawberry lemonade for the parched.

Dasia Selders, another SLU student, commented, “Since I was raised here, I have gone to the Strawberry Festival many times as a child and now as an adult. My grandmother lives right beside the parade route and my family goes all out every year”

To many locals the festival is nothing new, but since it only comes around once a year it is still something many people look forward too.

“I don’t go as much as I used to when I was little. Sometimes the crowds of people can be chaotic, but I have found going at night to be more my style anyway. People can really underestimate Louisiana heat” claimed Selders.

The number of people is not to be exaggerated. Coming from humble beginnings, this festival now hosts over 350,000 visitors and generates profit for approximately 100 plus organizations. Many are advised to drink water, but enjoy yourself and drink responsibly as well, temperatures can rise very fast.

Although the heat will be in attendance that shouldn’t deter you from stopping by and getting a glimpse at a little piece of history right here in our own state. If you would like a little more information on The 48th Annual Strawberry Festival and events happening on each day you can contact them at their website lastrawberryfestival.com.

--

--