Decisions Decisions Decisions

Rashad Walcott
Rashad’s Tech Blogs
3 min readSep 9, 2019

On my journey here at the Flatiron School, we were advised to concentrate on learning the skills that we need and to hold off on worrying about looking for jobs etc. Well I did exactly that. One of the things I learned from my time in the military is to take it one day at a time. You concentrate on the now and what is needed to execute your mission and you plan accordingly when it is time to plan ahead.

At this point in the program we have reached Mod4 and have about 4 weeks left before we have completed our time here at Flatiron School. It is now that time to plan ahead like I previously mentioned. We have met with career services and I was assigned a coach. It is very exciting but yet also a bit scary at the same time because now we have to look into maybe what kind of companies we would like to work for and the type of industry that we would like to be a part of. As I listen to my classmates, it seems as though the majority has an idea of what field they would like to work in, while I am left pondering. My love for programming is real, I love being able to build something and see the outcome at the end of it. I am not too particular as to what it is but more invested into putting my energy and hard work into the final product that is produced.

Just the other day, I was chatting with some close friends of mine and somehow we were talking about movies and the movie Avatar became a part of the conversation. I immediately got super excited and proceeded to tell them how I really enjoyed the graphics in that movie and how I remember going out and purchasing the DVD years back. I found it absolutely mesmerizing. I remembered sitting there and thinking “Wow! I would love to be a part of the team that made this beautiful product.” I found myself wondering how long the whole movie took to make and the long hours that most likely went into that result that I was watching on the big screen. At that point in time I told myself to look into that field when I was done with my degree. I told my friends that I just had an epiphany and that working on movies like Avatar would be my dream. To be able to work so hard and see something so beautiful come out of it. I would be honored!

It is funny how we sometimes forget the things that inspired you to begin with. It isn’t that you lose the drive exactly but we tend to get caught up in trying to get where we know we need to be. However, taking time to reflect and really remind yourself about what drove you and gave you those chills to begin with is needed from time to time. I am excited to experience the next chapter on this journey and to put all the hard work to good use. I wish all my classmates the best of success on their future endeavors as well.

--

--